Sauti Sol set to release first major label record with Universal Music Africa

Award-winning afro pop band, Sauti Sol on Friday announced that their fifth studio album, ‘Midnight Train’, will be released on June 5, 2020.

This will become the group’s first major label record with Universal Music Africa.

The album pre-add however goes live on Friday and it allows fans to instantly get the tracks, ‘Brighter Days’ as well as previous singles ‘Suzanna’ and ‘Disco Matanga’ added to their libraries and playlists immediately.

Additionally, the pre-add feature will automatically add the album to the consumers library immediately on release day.

‘Brighter Days’ is a motivational and spiritually uplifting anthem featuring Grammy Award winning Soweto Gospel Choir.

The song reaffirms that one should not be weary or in despair but focus on the promise of a better tomorrow; it is a praise song that spreads positivity and encouragement across different nations in a time when it is needed most.

“Recorded between Los Angeles, California, Johannesburg, South Africa and their hometown Nairobi, ‘Midnight Train’ demonstrates the band’s songwriting and producing skills with electric energy and new rhythms,” read a statement to newsrooms.

“The album’s theme is centered around enjoying the journey of life but also embracing the hustles and the trials that come with it. You can count on Sauti Sol to deliver music from the heart and ‘Midnight Train’ does not stray from the formula.”

Special and notable features on the album include American singer and songwriter, India Arie on the sensual track ‘My Everything’, and Nigerian heavy-hitter Burna Boy guest appears on ‘Time flies’.

When reflecting, Bien explains that “Time flies is inspired by Burna Boy’s increased journey. A lot can happen in a year with dedication.”

‘Disco Matanga (Yambakhana),’ the official soundtrack to Netflix’s first African Original series ‘Queen Sono,’ is the most recent collaborative release to come in the form of Sho Madjozi and Black Motion.

“They were on our list of musicians we wanted to collaborate with, and it finally came to pass. We love South African music and it is one of the sweetest artistic heritages on the continent,” said Polycarp.

“There is a lot of maturity in the album. We have come of age and we express how people should perceive us freely after 11 years as professional singers. Every song speaks to an issue that is relatable to everyone.”

Midnight Train track list:

  1. Intro
  2. Midnight Train
  3. Insecure
  4. Feel My Love
  5. Brighter Days ft. Soweto Gospel Choir
  6. Nenda Lote
  7. Suzanna
  8. Interlude
  9. My Everything ft. India Arie
  10. Wake Up ft. Mortimer
  11. Sober
  12. Time Flies ft. Burna Boy
  13. Disco Matanga (Yambakhana) ft. Black Motion & Sho Madjozi
  14. Rhumba Japani ft. Kaskazini, Bensoul, Xenia, Nviiri the Storyteller, Okello Max & NHP

tagged in:

Categories: news | Comments