Sauti Sol beats P-Square at AFRIMMA

Popular Kenyan boy band, Sauti Sol was awarded Best Group award at AFRIMMA 2015 presented by DJ Jimmy Jatt and Ashley Stephanie.

The group managed to defeat other groups in the category, including acclaimed Nigeria’s R&B duo, Psquare.


Cedric Kadenyi (Cedo) who is affiliated to the boy band also won the Producer of The Year award for their mega-hit Sura Yako.

The ceremony, which was hosted by renowned hype man Davidson Ngibuini aka DNG alongside sultry actress and TV host, Aurelie Eliam Was held at Eko Hotel, Victoria Island on Sunday night.

The occasion, which promised nothing but a musical jamboree and a celebration of African cultures, talents and artistic values delivered exactly that.

In last year’s edition, the Nigerian artistes took home the highest number of trophies, 13 in total, with the Aye crooner, Davido, carting away four of the coveted gold-plated AFRIMMA trophies.

In this year’s awards, Diamond Platnumz was the biggest winner, scooping Song of the year, Best East African Male Artiste and Artiste of the year awards.


Cassper Nyovest scooped Best Male Artiste in Southern Africa and Best African Hip-Hop song, Olamide for Best make Artist in West Africa and Yemi Alade for Best Female Artiste in West Africa.


Vanessa Mdee won Best African Pop, Flavour won Best African Electro, and Jose Chameleone won songwriter of the year.


Best African Collaboration went to AKA Ft Burna Boy and Da Les All eyes on me.

Other artistes in Africa who also managed to scoop awards include:

Best Female Artiste in North Africa went to Manal, Best male artiste in North Africa went to Ahmed Soultan and Best East African Female Artist went to Tsedenia Gebremarkos.

Best Male Artiste in Central Africa winner was Stanley Enow, Best Female Artiste in Central Africa Charlotte Dipanda and Best Female Artiste in Southern Africa Busiswa Ngoku 

The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to the phenomenal Ladysmith Black Mambazo and the Best Male Artiste in African Inspirational Music Darey.

Ladysmith Black Mambazo Issue 326 06 2009

Joseph Shabalala and his unique ensemble Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Best Female Artist in African inspirational music Betty Akna Best African contemporary Charlotte Dipanda and Most Promising Artiste in Africa Kiss Daniel.

Other categories included the Best African Jazz, which was scooped by Kunle Ayo

Best African Rock Mvula, Best African Traditional Ganbe Brass Band, Best African Rnb & Soul Praiz, Best African Reggae, Ragga & Dancehall

Stonebwo and Revelation of the African Continent Adekunle Gold

This year’s winners being awarded with a 23.9-karat gold-plated drum and microphone- shaped trophy.

AFRIMMA, in partnership with the African Union Commission, hope to recognize, award, promote and preserve Africa’s rich music culture.


tagged in:

Categories: Uncategorized | Comments